Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on Linkedin

Speech, print media win two 2017 APEX® awards

ENGLEWOOD, Ohio, June 27, 2017 – Teresa Zumwald, owner and president of Zumwald & Company, LLC, has received two APEX® 2017 Awards of Excellence: one in the Writing – Speech & Script category, and one in the Print Media – Special Purpose category.

About the winning speech

Her winning speech was entitled “Follow Her Lead” and was written for Lisa Beutel, Ph.D., executive director of the University of Dayton Center for Leadership. The speech was delivered at the Air Force Women in Science and Engineering (AFWiSE) Summer Seminar, The Air Force Research Laboratory in Dayton, Ohio, on Sept. 1, 2016.

Read an excerpt here.

The speech answers three questions:

  1. How are men and women leaders similar or different?
  2. What are the key leadership behaviors needed to succeed in executive roles?
  3. What must organizations do to help women succeed in executive roles?

About the winning print media piece

The winning print media piece was entitled “Protect Your Investment in Your Local Company: Business Preparedness & Succession Planning Booklet.”

It was written for Winsupply Inc. and distributed to more than 580 local company presidents throughout the organization.

Winsupply is a leading supplier of residential and commercial construction and industrial supplies and equipment headquartered in Dayton. The privately held company has 580 wholesaling locations in 45 states.

About APEX 2017

APEX 2017, the 29th Annual Awards for Publication Excellence, recognizes excellence in publishing by professional communicators. APEX awards are based on excellence in graphic design, editorial content and the ability to achieve overall communications excellence. The competition is sponsored by the editors of “Writer’s Web Watch” and the “Writing That Works” Archives published by Communications Concepts, Inc.

According to Concepts Editor and Publisher John De Lellis, “competition was exceptionally intense” this year since there were almost 1,400 entries. Presented were 543 Awards of Excellence in 100 subcategories within 11 major categories:

  • Newsletters
  • Magazines, Journals & Tabloids
  • Annual Reports
  • Print Media
  • Electronic Media
  • Social Media
  • Websites
  • Campaigns, Programs & Plans
  • Writing
  • Design & Illustration
  • One-of-a-Kind Publications

Also presented were 100 Grand Awards honoring outstanding work in the 11 major categories.

In addition to De Lellis, the panel of judges included Kenneth J. Turtoro, publishing executive; Christine Turner, contributing editor of the “Writing That Works” Archives; and Bill Londino, consulting editor of “Writer’s Web Watch.”

To view the APEX 2017 Awards of Excellence Winners List, download the searchable pdf file. ■